So many things to say!!

First of all, my sweet daughter hated our name until she found out what it meant…  Kupenda is the Swahili word meaning “to love” and the numbers 127 refer to James 1:27 which says, “Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.” (NIV)

 

Some of the 250+ Orphans and Vulnerable Children in Kalimbira

Photo by khym54 http://flic.kr/p/3YGsG5

How did this journey begin?  Well, I am a lover of projects and always in search of my next new thing…while job hunting I ran across an ad for an orphanage for sale in Uganda.  I could not get it off of my mind, I prayed and prayed.  I eventually emailed the current director.  They have been searching for a buyer for over a year and have someone interested in purchasing the land and shutting down the orphanage.  Just today he told me that he would rather that we buy it. I have spent hours praying and seeking God on this.  For several weeks, I felt God saying to me…Be still, My child.  After praying about this opportunity, I felt a new word…PUSH.  So, here I am.  Pushing. It’s a big goal with a little time frame.  Luckily, we serve a great and mighty God!  This is our journey.  To Uganda.  To serve.  To love.  To be changed.  And hopefully to bring a little bit of light to some sweet babies. I have no idea where this is going to go, but I am going to enjoy every moment and PUSH.

Leave a Reply

